- Advertisement -

Anthony Daniels is currently on a monumental book tour that’s seen him zipping him across the UK and the Atlantic as he lets as many people know about his memoirs, I Am C-3PO – The Inside Story. Speaking to The Snu, he broached the subject of how the academy has widely ignored the saga in the years since the original trilogy.

“The Academy can be very snobbish. And George is not a Hollywood person – ‘If you don’t like our gang we’re not going to have you in our gang,’ sort of thing.

“[It] Really p**ses me off that I don’t think George ever won an Oscar for himself, just departments – special effects and all that kind of thing. George deserves more than that.”

He certainly did, and a good point. Star Wars won 6, along with a special achievement award while Empire won 2 and Jedi just 1. The prequels received nominations but no wins (the mystery of how The Phantom Menace didn’t win Best VFX and Best Original Score will never be solved), and so far the Disney era has had no joy (not even a nomination for John Powell’s award winning score for Solo), leading to fair calls of academy snobbishness.

Lucas did receive the Academy’s Irving G. Thalberg Award in 1991, and was nominated as Best Director in 1973 for American Graffiti and again in 1977 for Star Wars, but possibly the best award Lucas ever received was the love of the fans…and his 2002 Worst Director Golden Raspberry Award for Attack of the Clones.

I Am C-3PO: The Inside Story: Foreword by J.J. Abrams
  • Hardcover Book
  • Daniels, Anthony (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 272 Pages - 11/05/2019 (Publication Date) - DK (Publisher)